The Blogger Who Saved Christmas

SciFi Dad had a contest where he was giving away a free phone call Santa.  There’s this company called Santa Speaking and they take a bunch of info from you about your kids, and then have Santa call them and blow their minds.

I totally won that contest.

They asked me 8,529 questions per child, and not just the names and ages stuff, but questions like, “What do they need to work on?” and  “What have they asked Santa for” and “What are their favorite colors?”   I picked the date and time of the call; the 22nd, between 2 and 3.  Of course, there was 15 billion feet of snow on the ground at 2pm on the 22nd, and of course the kids were all out sledding, so I called them home and told them that I was ‘worried about someone breaking a leg,’ and ‘could y’all just play close to the house for me so I don’t have to freak out?’  I can’t believe that worked, either.

The phone rang at 2:15 and I answered it.  “Hello?” 

“HO HO HO!  Merrrrry Christmas!”

“Is this Santa?”  “Of course it is! HO HO HO!” “Well, let me get the kids for you!”

Talking To SantaI called them inside.  I told them the phone was for them and they would never ever believe who was on the other end.  2of3 took the phone first.  I only heard his end of the call, which started out with a nervous giggle and something of a smirk, turned into a bunch of how did you know THAT’s and ended with the biggest smile I’ve ever seen on a kid’s face.  1of3 asked me halfway through 2of3′s chat, “Is he talking to Uncle Gnilleps?”

“No, man, it’s even better. Just wait.”

1of3 took the phone and said hello.  And then he rolled his eyes.  And then he listened.  He uh-huhed a lot in the beginning, and as their talk went on, his eyes got wider and wider and he smiled bigger and bigger.  All the while, 20f3 was jumping around the house screaming, “Mom, it was really Santa!  He knew EVERYTHING!  He knew we’re from Denver, he knew I have to focus more at school, he knew about our letter ornament on the tree!  It was REALLY Santa!”  1of3 said goodbye, handed the phone to me, and after we all sang Santa a Christmas song and had hung up, I noticed his hands were shaking.  I looked at his face, and their were tears streaming down his cheeks.

I asked what was wrong and he just asked, “Mom, did you tell him to call?  You have to tell me the truth.”  I said no, that I knew Santa’s number but had no idea he knew ours.  He stifled back his tears and in an almost-whisper said, “Mom, it was really Santa.”

I know, baby; I know it was.

And that was when I realized that my son, my little baby, didn’t believe in Santa anymore, or was at least totally on the fence about the whole thing, right up until that phone call.  And now he has no doubts.  Now, he has empirical proof.  Now, he’s got that magic back, maybe only for another year or so, but it’s there.

And that, my friends, is what it’s all about.

It’s about seeing my kids believe in something beyond them.  It’s about showing them how to have faith in something they can’t touch, that they’ll never really be absolutely certain of, but that they want to believe in.  It’s about keeping a glimmer of misty-eyed wonder in their eyes, and I would happily cough up the $60 the call would have cost me anytime to make sure they have that as long as they can.

54 Comments

Filed under Reviews

54 responses to “The Blogger Who Saved Christmas

  1. I felt that way when you called me today. Like the magic was back.

    You rock. On so many levels I am starting to lose count.

  2. That is such a sweet story! That moment where kids jump the shark and start being jaded totally sucks. Mine still believes and it was so cool to see him get sad that Santa didn’t know we’d decided to go to Grammy’s and didn’t leave anything for him there, but watch him race to his stocking and the tree the minute we got back to our house.

  3. Ali

    That’s so beautiful. I didn’t realise my 10yo still believed and nearly gave the game away. Go me! It was so cute when she was all excited Christmas eve to see Father Christmas taking off from the North Pole on the news. I’m gonna do my best to keep it going for a couple more years.

  4. That’s awesome. I’m so glad you and your kids enjoyed the call. It definitely is a great service, and worth the price. But, didn’t 3of3 get to talk?

  5. That is tres muey cool.

  6. Oh geesh…. way to start off a morning. Crying. LOL. I have tiny tears running down my face that was so sweet. Freaking hormones.

    That call came right on time. I might have to use it next year. For, my almost 2 year old is starting, to figure things out on her own.

  7. nukedad

    Yep, St. Nick is pretty good, isn’t he? He called me the other day and knew WAY more about me than I was comfortable with.

    Glad to see that your kids still believe in the magic. We’re 2 for 3 right now. Well, 1 1/2 for 3; NukeBoy2 had some Jack Sheppard questions this year. Need to have John Locke talk to him a little.

  8. Very cool!

    A friend of my parents’ did this for my sister after her kindergarten teacher (!!!) told the classroom of 5-year olds that Santa wasn’t real (needless to say, there were a lot of angry parents calling the principal that night). My parents took it one step further to seal the deal by dipping Dad’s boots in the fireplace ash and making boot prints to the tree. Kept her believing for a few more years. :)

  9. That’s fantastic! I’ll go ahead and tell you that this story made me tear up. Why didn’t the little one get to speak to Santa?

  10. Kim

    I had Santa call my house again this year. The magic in my sons eyes is worth lying to him for a few years.. Soon enough that magic will be jaded .. I am letting him just enjoy it all..

    Very awesome.. very very awesome.

  11. Know what? I am so honored that I somehow had a role in his Christmas magic.

  12. Santa called me. Or was it Satan? Damn dyslexia.

  13. Oh man this made me cry.

  14. Lo

    dude. you totally made me cry. and hello? why did they not have this when i was a kid??? i TOTALLY would’ve still been a believer.

    i want a santa call. damnit.

  15. Wow! That. Is. So. Cool.
    My kids were hook, line and sinker with The Elf on the Shelf. I might need to keep a Santa call on the back burner for next year.

  16. Tears. Freaking Tears.

    That is beautiful!! Yippee for magic!

  17. glassbathtubgirl

    I cried near the end of this post!
    I love it when kids believe in the unbelievable!

  18. Holy crap now I’M all misty eyed this morning remembering the magic and wanting to keep it as long as possible in every possible way.

    I am a complete and staunch supporter of kids believing in something beyond them…

    …and now that I think of it, I’m also a supporter of grown-ups feeling that way too. Believing in the beyond makes life a bit more interesting I think…

    Great friggin’ post.

  19. When The Polar Express doesn’t work its magic for us anymore, this is the solution. I love that you’re finding your own magic through your kids, too. You? Are a Writer.

  20. I was feeling all droopy and depressed about being back in the office today. THIS post is exactly what I needed, thank you. I guess I’m just not ready to let the family go and hit the 9-to-5 just yet. :) Loved it.

  21. That is so cool….and I am one who loves to let the magic live as long as possible…My DS figured things out when the tooth fairy got a little lazy. I have NEVER denied anything…and as far as I’m concerned…Santa will be delivering presents till my kids are 70.

  22. Oh wow, how cool is that!!
    My dad pretended to be Santa this year and phoned Bradley, and he just loved it and didn’t stop talking about it for days!

  23. I got all teary reading this.

  24. THAT was awesome. But stop making me cry at work, please. Thx.

  25. What the heck. I totally gave Santa at the dept store my number and he still hasn’t called me back. GAW.

    No, but seriously…you’re going to make me all teary.

    Stop it.

  26. can’t tell you how awsome this is! really.

  27. I think I kind of hate you for making tears spring into my eyes.

  28. the tears won’t stop….i need that number(well not for awhile, but it will be important someday)

  29. Crap. I’m crying so much over this that I’m tempted to have Santa call ME next year.

    I can’t wait to do this for my kids. My husband has been known to make a few calls as Santa to friends’ kids who have stopped believing. He does a mean “Ho, ho, ho!” But this sounds even better.

  30. I’m all verklempt over here. That is so freakin’ cool!

  31. I think I ruined Santa for my 11 1/2 year old brother this year. My sister and I were talking about stocking stuffers for our kids and weren’t thinking about how he still gets a stocking, and he totally played it off like of course that was baby stuff, but I could see the frank disappointment in the back of his eyes, and then I felt like a dick. I didn’t know! Yknow?

  32. Very cool. It’s clear how much your kids loved that call. I’m sure it will be a memory they’ll take with them into their own parenthood. Just think about it… you just influenced your future GRANDCHILDREN. How awesome is that???

  33. I think my 6 yr old son still believes in Santa, but its nice to know I can find a resource in case I need on next year.
    This post brought tears to my eyes – what a great story. Thanks for sharing.

  34. Lindsay

    I’m bawling. Thank you so much. I still believe …

  35. You made me cry. Again. STOP IT!

    I’m so doing this next year. I’ve never even heard of this service.

  36. Gnilleps

    Wow… got me. That was the best Christmas story… EVER.

    I also followed that like from my “name” and if you take into account how I feel about Donor, we are the exact same person. heh <3

  37. Gulp. Tears. Now I totally feel like shit for telling my nine year old.

  38. How amazing is that!

  39. How dare you make me cry but OMG you did and I loved every weepy second of it. I BELIEVE – I REALLY DO.

  40. I’m pretty sure my older two “know” but like me, I hope they never stop believing.

    And yes, that call was magical.

  41. Awesome.

    Freaking awesome.

  42. Cuz_I'm_the_Mom

    I’d watch The Twelve Days of Barney the Dinosaur while drinking Sunny D straight from the bottle just to have that kind of magic back.
    Darn teenagers!

  43. You have me in tears. That’s the most awesome thing.

  44. Sweetness. I mean that in every way!

  45. Awesome story. The Hurricane (18 months) knows what Santa looks like and says, but doesn’t understand what he does yet, and I can’t wait to see that excitement in her eyes. But to get an actual call … wow. They’ll never forget that (nor will you, I’m sure).

  46. So, uh, are my folks going to have God or Jesus call me now or something if they read this?
    :)

  47. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

Leave a Reply

